Today’s card and other stuff (3-26)

TodayIs1_teri

Hi all!

This is today’s card.

I created the strips with a “white wash emboss resist” technique I devised while messing around.

So it sounds all fancy, schmanzy complicated, but it really wasn’t.

I embossed the herringbone pattern (from a Studio Calico & Hero Arts stamp set) with clear ink and clear embossing powder on a super bright strips of cardstock. Then I brushed a white pigment ink pad all over the strips. I didn’t quite get the strips fully covered so I used a waterbrush to dilute the color and further spread the white ink. Once I did that, I patted the ink dry with a paper towel and used the same paper towel to remove the ink from the embossed areas.

The end result: more muted, more pretty strips of cardstock. I love the look and can’t wait to try this technique again.

todayis2_Teri

Speaking of it being a new day, I have some news. ;)

I am continuing on in the journey of being a Go-to Gal for Paper Crafts magazine. Susan’s talking about it today on Paper Crafts Connection. Check it out to find who else is continuing on. And check it out tomorrow to see who is joining us on the Go-to Gal journey. (Congrats, mystery girls! Welcome back and welcome!)

Let’s be real honest for a minute and share something deep from within my soul: I have had sat on this post for days, struggling with just what to say.  Super excited here to continue on, but I’m also really going to miss working in this way with Julie, Windy and Jennifer. Just like Maren, Jess and Kim H. (also retired Go-to Gals), each of them have a special place in my heart. Possibly one of the coolest things about being a Go-to Gal is the friendships you build along the way with the other G2Gs. You really get to know each other, and it makes it an extra-special experience. Thanks, girls, for being you. Remember, you are stuck with me… forever and ever… like totally. (And consider yourself warned, mystery girls. Yes, that was an evil laugh.)

I feel the need to say getting to do this is something I never dreamed I’d do…. or really aspired to do. Let alone continue to get to do.

Back before there were Go-to Gals, there were Paper Crafts Pros. I knew them all. (You guys know Nichole, right? Yeah, I thought so. :) She was one of them.). These girls were crazy awesome crafters. Really on top of things. They had this special spark about them.

I never ever thought for a minute I’d have the opportunity to do something like what they did. I mean, they were AWESOME! ;) And I definitely was not one of them.

So you can imagine my surprise when I was invited to try out to become a Go-to Gal. (In my head it was something like: “Really, guys? You must be thinking you sent this to some other Teri, not this one.”) And then you can imagine my surprise when I was actually asked to be one after a rather long, drawn-out,  try-out process. (In my head… again: “What???!!!! No… freaking… way. No one else was available, right? Yeah. That’s what I thought.”) And you can imagine my surprise now at being asked again. (Again. The head: “Shut up, people. You know someone is going to jump out and say I’m being punked. OK, Ashton Kutcher. Come out now. Say it. Lay it on me.”)

So, yeah, shockers seem to happen a lot around these parts.

I just want to say thank you to the editors from Paper Crafts for seeing something in me I never saw in myself and for continuing to see something in me. I appreciate you tremendously.

I really am just a girl who likes to make stuff. And I am glad to be a part of the crafting community and hang out with other crafters.

Thanks for being here today.

28 thoughts on “Today’s card and other stuff (3-26)

  1. Congratulations Teri – so pleased for you! I always say card makers are the nicest people and you my friend are a perfect, shining example of that xx

  2. Congrats to you! I’m glad you are staying on as a GTG…..you are an inspiration to all the other girls who just like to make stuff….me included. What a sweet post!

  3. Teri your post is beautiful and heartfelt!
    So happy you are continuing on as a go-to-gal! I have been reading your blog for a year or so now and I so appreciate your posts! Your eye for combining items on your card to create something unique always blows me away! Looking forward to another year of beauty and fun!

  4. Your card is FAB, colorful, bright, happy–reminds me of a box of “good” colored crayons! AND … congrats on being a Go-To gal, AGAIN! :D

  5. I’m just a girl who makes stuff. You are AMAZING with the cards/crafts/layouts you make. You bring a fresh look each time and I look forward to everything you offer on your blog and at PCC. Thank you.

  6. Congrats!!! Love seeing your creations each month in the magazine! Your card is awesome today–Such a fun, cool technique! I thought you had used coordinating inks in a darker shade at first. ;)

  7. Congrats Teri!! I’m so happy for your continuation as a Go-to Gal :) I really love everything that you make. All of your projects are happy, unique, fresh and that’s not easy to find! Love today’s card!!

  8. Teri, thank you for being you. You’re a crazy awesome crafter. You have a special spark. We’re so happy you’re joining us for another journey…now if I could only get you on Space Mountain (yes, that was an evil laugh)!

  9. Teri, after following your blog for a while, seeing your lovely creations and owning some of the stamps you’ve designed, no one deserves to be a Go 2 Gal more than you. You’re AWESOME and you ROCK this craft.

  10. Congrats! I’m so happy that you will be staying on as a Go to Gal. You have a great style and your fun personality shines through your blog! Thanks for the new technique with this card, I will definitely give it a try. Big Hugs to you.

  11. Congrats Teri. Couldn’t of happen to a better person. You ROCK the craft world. I am so happy you are continuing with the G2G’s I love seeing your cute style in Papercraft and on your blog. :)

  12. Congratulations on your new adventure. Of course they should choose and want you. You’re so talented. I’ve seen your work and admired it for years in magazines. I am so glad to see all those magazine submissions paid off and your with some great teams. They are so blessed to have you. I can’t wait to see what you come up with.
    I love this card you did and the soft colors and the placement of the buttons. Great work as always. LOVE you work. Hugs

  13. Absolutely no surprise to me that you continue to be a G2G – your work is so inspiring and fun! Congrats to you! Looking forward to seeing even more awesome craftiness from you for Paper Crafts!

  14. Teri, you silly gal! I have been on the circus-ride with you since you first became a G2G!!! I have also followed your blog since then too! So I have seen how you’ve grown with your talent and absolutely adore your style!!! yes..that was a high-five and cheesy grin there! For me, PC would be silly NOT to have you continue! You Go Girl!!

  15. Teri….SERIOUSLY…. You are such a deserving gal and PaperCrafts is lucky to have you as a Go-to-Gal!!!!!!! I have seen you and your work up close and personal….and let me just say….GIRL…….YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am amazed at your talent and creativity day in and day out. I read your blog DAILY and just can’t get enuf of your friggen awesomeness!!!!! Hugs from me straight to you.

  16. *sigh* That’s what I love most about you girl . . . you’re amazing and you don’t even know it! You are like a phenom – truly! But more importantly, you’re one of the kindest, funniest, and sweetest girls I’ve ever met. And you’re FREAKISHLY talented (that’s a good thing – ha!) So it’s no wonder that PC wants you back. They’d be FOOLS to let you go, my friend!! So, thanks for being YOU! XOXO

Leave a Reply

