MFT Countdown: Day 1

Hi all!

I’m so pumped and so honored to be joining the folks from My Favorite Things as a guest designer in June.

(And you guys want to know a secret? I totally cried when they asked a few months ago. Such an honor. I’ve admired MFT for years. They have  top-notch, high quality products and just plain good designs. Such, such an honor to get to play with their team this month!)

So the long and the short of it is consider yourselves warned. You are going to be seeing some posts of the next few days, featuring some of MFT new products for June. And, gosh golly, I’m excited to share what I’ve made with you! :)

So I’ve got a couple projects to show you today. They both use MFT’s new Pierced Fishtail Flags Stax Die-namics and the Together Forever stamp set.

Meet card #1.

mft_1_congrats1_teri

I die-cut all those flags using the new Die-namics set.

This card is really the result of messing around and discovering that I could make a fun little pattern with the flags.

mft_1_congrats2_teri

And here is card #2.

mft_1_happy1_teri

It’s kinda the same idea, but it’s little different twist.  I thought it looked pretty cool stacking the different flags together.

mft_1_happy2_teri

You might notice  some of the flags on these two cards are open. I achieved that look by doing some double-cutting.

I simply placed a larger die onto a piece of cardstock and then placed a smaller one inside it. To keep them in place as I ran them through my die-cutting machine, I slapped on a little washi tape.

mft_1_step1_teri

The end result was something like this.

mft_1_step2_teri

I thought it was a pretty cool look! And I must admit it was pretty addicting to cut the flags this way. I ended up with a whole pile of them to use on future projects… hee!

To see more peeks, be sure to hit the My Favorite Things blog. You’ll find links to all the MFT designers who are sharing projects today. (And thanks for inviting me to play along, MFT!)

Be back again tomorrow.

 

62 thoughts on “MFT Countdown: Day 1

  1. Awesome cards! Congrats! I’m a huge fan of theirs as well. In fact I just received an order of die-namics today. Excited to see all the cool things you cook up. :)

  2. Super cool designs using the new pierced fishtail dies and sentiment set! LOVE the colors you choose, too. MFT rocks! I have a lot of their products and their monthly release is ALWAYS my fav! Looking forward to see all of your projects as the guest designer! :)

  3. So much fun! I love the look of the “open” flags and how fun and playful your cards are using these cuts! Thanks so much for sharing and inspiring!

  4. Well, look at you go!!! Love seeing your smiling face here this morning, Teri! The cards rock, and love what you’ve done with those fish-tails. I’ll look forward to tomorrow’s treats =]

  5. I can see how you could get addicted to those flags – they’re so cool! Great job on the cards and cant wait to see what else you have in store for us this month.

  6. Love these. The flags look very cool- will look out for these dies- love the dashed edges. Your cards are just plain awesome ( except not plain you understand 😉) !

  7. Pingback: MFT Countdown: Day 2 | A bit of this. A bit of that.

  8. So funny, your pile of open fishtail flags. Whenever I get a new set I take out every color of card stock I can imagine using the die with and cut a pile of stuff. So gratify to have a pile of elements to choose from when I need a quick card.

  9. i really like what you have created with the fishtail flag dies. i know i will try to case it, they can be used for a guy or gal card by changing colors or patterned papers.

Leave a Reply

