MFT Countdown: 7

Hi everyone!

Super pumped to be joining the My Favorite Things crew this month!

Kicking off things today with the crew and the MFT Countdown to the July release.

NewReleaseCountdown_Day7

Since it needs to be said, “Breathe, Teri. Breathe.”

Ok. We’re good. ;)

Here’s what  I cooked up to share with you today.

July2_mft_BirthdayWishes1_teri

I created this chalkboard inspired card with a couple new My Favorite Things products – the Blueprints 17 Die-namics dies and the  Birthday Chalkboard Greetings clear stamp set. (They will both be available on July 8th.)

To create the chalkboard look, I heat embossed the sentiment on the black cardstock panel with white embossing powder. Then liberally sponged white ink around the edges of the panel. It’s messy good, but I like it… muchly! :)

702_mft_birthdaywishes2_teri

So how did I create that banner? It was came together pretty quick with the Blueprints 17 dies. The process went a bit like this.

I cut three flags with folded flag dies. The cool thing about those dies? They’ve got a score line right in the middle so the flags fold really easily.

702_mft_1

I also cut a small flag and a star with the dies. You’ll see there are two stars. Rather than breaking them apart, I decided to keep them connected so I didn’t lose one of them. At some point, I might use my snips to break them apart but they are good together for now. ;)

702_mft_2

Then I set out a line of floss of floss. I spread glue in the middle of the flags and folded the flags onto the floss.

702_mft_3

To really make sure the glue set, I used a clip to hold them in place.  A clothespin would have done the job too!

702_mft_4

Then I added the small white flag and the star to the middle flag.

702_mft_5

And to really sauce things up,  I threw on a few gems too.

702_mft_6

And there you have it.

To see more peeks, be sure to hit the My Favorite Things blog. You’ll find links to all the MFT designers who are sharing projects today. (And thanks again to MFT for inviting me to be part of the crew and to play along!)

The products I used on today’s project:

* Blueprints 17 Die-namics dies (available July 8th)

* Birthday Chalkboard Greetings stamp set (available July 8th)

28 thoughts on “MFT Countdown: 7

  1. Really nice card! Great idea to use the clip to hold the flags closed until they dried. I would be the person who sat there an held each one by hand until they dried, lol! Thanks so much for sharing this simple but yet great idea :)

  2. Welcome to MFT! I love the new Blueprints 17.Chalkboards are great for showers,weddings,birthdays…teachers etc.I could go on & on on it’s versability!Luv it!

  3. That’s such a lifelike chalkboard I expected to see a tray on it holding chalk and erasers! Beautiful card & love the decorated banner!

  4. The new chalkboard die and sentiment set are so cool! Your card is great. Fun way to add the layered flags, too. :)

  5. Teri – Congrars on joining the MFT design team! It will be a perfect match – we should also congratulate them on the brilliant choice they made when they picked you to design for them. I love their sets with coordinating dies (I don’t have a snazzy electric cutter thingy/love the hands on and – o.k. I stink with tech stuff)!!! This card is great and I am looking forward to seeing more! I just love your style and the companies that you design for are some of my faves!!!

  6. love the banner, thanks for the tip with the clip, great idea. this banner is going to be yet another must have

Leave a Reply

