Thoughts about Go-to Sketches (4-5)

Hi everybody!

Well, this week is going to be a little different on my blog.

It’s going to be all about Go-to Sketches! Be warned. ๐Ÿ˜‰ You are going to hear a lot about it this week here and see a lot of stuff related to it.

If you haven’t seen Go-to Sketches, let me give you a briefer. It’s 162-page special issue featuring 66 sketches for cards, bags and all that stuff from Paper Crafts magazine. The sketches in the issue are by myself and the other five Go-to-Gals (Jess, Betsy, Kim K., Kim H. and Maren). Then, 60 fellow crafters made a whole lotta cool projectsย  for the issue. Each were inspired by our sketches.

The issue is on news stands now everywhere. Run. Don’t walk. Get it while you can. ๐Ÿ˜‰

The issue is near and dear to myself, the other Go-to-Gals and the Paper Crafts crew so we are celebrating all week long. Tune in every day this week to my blog, the Paper Crafts blog, Moxie Fab World and all the the other Go-to-Gals’ blogs for a whole lot of fun stuff.

To kick it off the festivities,ย  online editor Kelly asked the Go-t0-Galsย  today to share what this issue means to us.

Ok. Don’t mock me, guys. It makes me feel a little emotional… andย  a lot proud.

It’s probably one of the “most practical, useful to everyone who paper crafts”
issues I’ve ever made stuff for. That really does makes me real proud. I mean, it’s filled with sketches. And sketches appeal to all levels of card makers (starters, experts and everyone in between). It’s got the potential to be a great resource to a lot of people.

The other thing (and be warned… this soundsย  a little hokey) is it shares a bit of the love that myself, Maren, Betsy, Kim K., Kim H and Jess have for paper crafting. Don’t let anyone fool you. Go-to Sketches is all about the sketches and the projects, but there are a few pages where you get to see our pictures and hear a little bit about our love of making stuff. The truth is we all are labeled as Go-to-Gals, but we are like any other passionate paper crafters out there and just love making stuff. It’s fun to share and dang fun to be around other paper crafters.

Ok, ok. So enough of that mushy stuff.

Some of y’all might be wondering how this issue came about. Well, it was the editors who came up with the idea for it. They sprang it on us.

Just before we headed to Utah last Fall for an Editorial Board meeting, they asked us to come up with some sketches for this special issue. It was pretty dang cool idea and neat to be asked to contribute in that way. I know I was riding high for a few days, thinking how fun it would be to see what people do with sketches I came up.

Of course, then shortly after that, hee hee, reality hit when Editor-in-Chief Jennifer asked us to prepare for a photo shoot. That’s because our pictures were going to be taken for the issue the day we arrived in Utah.

Let’s just say it was… an experience. In the days leading to the shoot, the six of us and Jennifer chatted a ton via e-mail about picking clothes and accessories for the shoot. Nerve-wrecking.

But it all worked out. The day of the shoot was so much fun.

It was the first time the six of us had never been in a room together at the same time, but you would have never guessed it. We just had a great time – laughing, fretting over hair and necklaces, assuring each other that we looked OK,ย  teasing each other about certain things (cough.. cough… not fessing up to anything… cough… cough) and all that.

I’ve got a few outtakes from that day that Kelly passed along for me to share with you today.

Here’s one of the group.

I can hear Maren, especially, laughing when I look at this picture. ๐Ÿ™‚ There are five more group outtakes floating around from that day. Go to the blogs of Maren, Betsy, Jess, Kim K. and Kim H. to see them.

And here’s one of me.

Oh, gosh. Thank goodness they didn’t use this one in the issue. C.H.E.E.S.Y.

That punch in my hand is totally covered and paint with white paint.ย  This was taken after I squeezed it and some paint popped out. ๐Ÿ™‚ It took me by surprise.

Anyway, check out the other gals’ blogs and you can see some more outtakes today.

This wouldn’t be a true Teri blog post if I didn’t share a card. So before I go, I want to share a card I made off one of the sketches inside the special issue. This one was inspired by one of Betsy’s sketches.

I submitted it for the issue, but it wasn’t chosen. It somehow seems appropriate to share it today.

The papers and chipboard are all from My Mind’s Eye. The font is an oldie from Creating Keepsakes (CK Fresh, I believe).

That’s all for now. I’ll be back tomorrow.

Thanks for stopping by.

34 thoughts on “Thoughts about Go-to Sketches (4-5)

  1. awww, SO cute! that card rocks, and what a great story – thanks for sharing it with us, Teri! i would be pretty darned proud, too. ๐Ÿ™‚ and i think this sketch venture is going to be a HUGE success for you go-to gals! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I’m sorry your cute card wasn’t taken, but it’s kind of reassuring to know that even go to gals don’t always get published.

Leave a Reply

