Paper Crafts magazine Presents: 350 Cards & Gifts Blog Hop

Hi all!

Well, it’s a great day for a Blog Hop.

Today, I’m joining up with Paper Crafts magazine and 11 other fantastic crafters for a blog hop in honor of 350 Cards & Gifts, the magazine’s newest special issue.

If you are a paper crafter and are looking for an issue that is jammed packed with cute, fun and easy paper crafted gift ideas, this one is for you. I like this issue because it gives you a ton of great ideas. From card sets to food wraps, there is a little something for everyone.

I am mostly a card maker. I have to say this issue kind of recharged my juices and reminded me to make something non-card more often. It’s just fun to do something different.

The issue is in craft stores  now and on newstands all over. It can also be purchased in the Paper Crafts magazine online store by going here.

Today, all 12 of the blog hop’s participants are making something based on one of the downloadable patterns from the issue that you can find here

I was asked to make something using Julie Campbell’s Book Gift Card Holder (p. 44). Little did the editor Kelly know when she asked that the project is one of my favorites in the issue. Hee hee hee.😉

I thought Julie was so clever to make a gift card holder shaped like a book. Check out the pattern page and you can get a sneak peek of Julie’s. It’s just so cool.

Anyway, this is my take on her project.

I did the cover a little different and instead went with one piece of paper rather than two. Then, I just applied letter stickers on the paper. I also doctored the image (from a piece of paper from Webster’s Pages Yacht Club collection) with a freehand cut heart and red gem.

For the seam of the book, I used Washi tape. I had considered book binding tape, but I had a roll of Washi tape on hand so I went with that instead.

Be sure to hit the blogs of all the participants in today’s Blog Hop and leave a comment on them.

Each of us are giving away a copy of the 350 Cards & Gifts special issue. Yep, me, too!😉

You’ll also want to stop by the Paper Crafts blog and leave a comment there for a chance at a fun giveaway there. Here is a sneak peek of the prize-a-roo.

You have until midnight (MDT) on Sunday, April 10, to comment on all the blogs!

Thanks so much for taking time to stop by today!

204 thoughts on “Paper Crafts magazine Presents: 350 Cards & Gifts Blog Hop

  1. This is sooo sweet and not one of those ugly cards that will be tossed..sometimes with the GC forgotten inside! I love your paper piecing and the great colours you used.
    Thank-you so much for sharing!🙂

  2. I’m always in awe of a designer that can create such beautiful items with so little embellishments – I tend to cram them all on there… It is an honor to be a part of this blog hop with you – you are incredibly talented and inspiring!

  3. OH how fun… You had me at Washi! Where did you get that brown? I seem to only find light browns and other darker colors but I want Chocolate! This is just all sorts of awesome! ((HUGS))🙂

  4. Oh wow, I seriously cant wait to get into my craft room to make something like this – your project is just fantastic, and I love the tape binding!

  5. Great little book. I especially love the vintage feel of the colors on the cover. Reminds me of the “readers” we learned to read with.

  6. It doesn’t look like my first response worked. If this is duplicated, please feel free to delete. But I had to post a comment as this is SO VERY unique and lovely. Fabulous creativity!

  7. It’s always good to see how one can shift the idea a bit and make it work for one’s self. Thanks for sharing how you did that!

  8. I too am mostly a card maker but I am definitely looking forward to this magazine. Looks like a lot of fun projects! Hope I win!

  9. Very cute. I could totally see myself making myself a bunch of little books just to have all those lovely bound seams staring at me perched on my craft shelves. OOOHH! I could use them to store funky embellies🙂 Cute AND useful!

  10. Love this little book! I am really going to have to make one of these! Thanks for the inspiration! I will buy this issue of the magazine if I don’t win it…amazing issue!

  11. Very cute – love the design and the use of washi tape. I have a few rolls, but have only used it sparingly on cards. Your book gift card holder gives me fresh ideas. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Oh, how cute. I love the vintage feel of this and what an awesome idea. So far, I just love everything I have seen you ladies made. Thanks for sharing.

  13. I LOVE this book gift card holder pattern and will definitely use it!! Wonderful touches you’ve added to your “book” too. TFS, Teri!

  14. Great project! I love cards (especially gift cards, lol) and I love books, so combining them into one project is even better. TFS 😉

  15. This is fabulous Teri! From the patterns I have seen, i have to say this is one of my favorites too – what a fabulous idea for a gift card – especially one to a book store – my favorite kind of gift cards next to crafting ones🙂 I don’t know what Washi tape is but I am going to find out! I love to make mini albums and books and that looks like it would be sooo much easier than making a binding out of paper!

  16. I’m always looking for a new gift card holder idea and this is so cute! Your ideas are very clever. Thanks!

  17. I so love your cute little card, and am so excited about this issue. Thanks for sharing, and for the chance to win this beautiful package of goodies.

  18. So sweet! I love all these ideas I’m getting from hopping from blog to blog. The book is one I wouldn’t have tried had I not seen your project. Washi tape users Unite!

  19. This is such a sweet little book. I love the little boy standing in his wagon peeking over the fence. Thanks for sharing.

    Linda D.

  20. Like your take on the “book” gift card holder. Your projects are giving us lots of ideas to stretch the envelope big time in our paper crafting. Thanks.

  21. What a great idea to paper piece! It really adds so much to the card and theme! BTW, I enjoyed your blossoms class at CK Portland in March!

  22. Pingback: Lawn Fawn peek: Happily Ever After | A bit of this. A bit of that.

  23. Absolutely adorable. I need to read it a little c loser so I can make something like this. really changes giving a gift card to someone when you do it up like that!

  24. Teri! I wanted so badly to tell you how amazing I thought your project was on Friday and somehow never did. Ridiculous. Anyway, you did a fantastic interpretation of the template and I love it to pieces. So much fun hoppin’ with you again!🙂

  25. I love this-I don’t have that paper but I have some other that I can use to make this work. thanks for such wonderful inspiration.

Leave a Reply

