Paper Crafts magazine Presents: Bonus Sketch Blog Hop

Hello, hello all!

How is your Friday? I hoping it is going swell!

I am joining with 9 other crafters (and Paper Crafts magazine) for a blog hop today to celebrate the release of Card Ideas for Paper Crafters. If you haven’t heard about it, it’s a sketch-based special issue. There are a whole bunch of sketches in it, and then there are a whole bunch of cards based on the sketches in it.

To me, these sketch-based specialย  issues are some of the practical and useful magazines Paper Crafts produces. That’s because it does not matter if you are a brand new card maker or an old school card making expert. Sketches are useful to everyone, no matter what their skill level!

The issue is available now in book stores and craft stores all over the world (seriously). You can also find it in the Paper Crafts online store by going here.

For today’s hop, all of us chose one sketch from the issue’s Bonus Sketches.

I created this one off of a bonus sketch from Emily Branch.

I tend to do a lot of clean cards so I used the sketch as a spring board for making a heavy patterned paper card. I will never be Betsy “Patterned Paper Genius” Veldman, but the sketch allowed me to try to capture a little bit of Betsy by using a lot of different patterned papers for my card. I always admire Betsy’s ability to work with patterns.

I changed the sketch a bit by adding a brad to the triangle and wrapping a little string around the brad. Just a fun little touch.

Be sure to check the blogs of everyone taking part in today’s hop.

Leave a comment on my blog, as well as all of their blogs, for a chance to win a copy of Card Ideas. We are all giving away one from the comments left on our blogs.

You will also want to zip right over to Paper Crafts Connection and leave a comment there for a chance to win a fun prize in honor of the special issue.

All comments (on all blogs) must be posted by midnight (MDT) on Sunday, August 28.

That’s all for now. Be back again really soon.

Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by today.

188 thoughts on “Paper Crafts magazine Presents: Bonus Sketch Blog Hop

  1. Patterned paper is one of my favorite cardmaking go-tos! I love the way you used this sketch – so very pretty! Thanks for the chance to win a copy of this great magazine!

  2. A Betsy, I will never be either. I’ve tried. But you did it, love your take on the sketch and the different papers you used. I also love your clean look cards, that more my style too. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Cute card and you did a wonderful job with the patterned paper — I know what you mean about Betsy, I sigh over her cards with envy.

  4. Your card is so pretty! I always think of sketches as just a starting off point and run from there. The brad and twine are clever embellishments and I love your pattern mix. Isn’t it great to try new ideas when influenced by designers we admire? We don’t really need to copy their look per say but just use their ideas to give a new fresh twist to our work.
    Thanks for sharing!๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I like what you did with this sketch! I’m afraid to mix lots of different patterned papers but after seeing how you did, I think I might have to give it another try!

  6. Oh love this card. I’ve been trying to use up some small pieces of scraps and this is a great sketch to do so. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Such a bright and cheery card! I have problems using patterned paper but you have definitely nailed a winning combination here.

  8. What a great card! I even have that same brad so I better give it a try. I struggle using multiple patterns but I’ve got some paper packs I can play with. Thanks for sharing.

  9. OHHH! Teri–you have done it again! You know how much I LOOOOOOOOVE your style! I love love love the papers you used and the brad at the bottom–how do you get that twine to stay??? LOVE IT!

  10. This is beautiful.. I LOVE the color combo, and the different papers..๐Ÿ™‚ and how you fastened it..thanks so much for the chance to win.. This hop was is so inspiring..๐Ÿ™‚ crossing fingers, toes, and eyes, that picks me..๐Ÿ™‚ HUGS

  11. These sketches are so helpful and amazing. I appreciate the inspiration, and thank you for playing along.
    I hope I win!!!

  12. I loved this sketch and the card you created worked beautifully. It is cards like these that we save all those small scraps for. How fun for a bunch of friends to get together with their scrap boxes and mix and match up a bunch of these!

  13. I LOVE your card: you did great on your adventure into patterned paper land๐Ÿ™‚
    I especially love the cross-stitches you did to join some of the paper: what a fun idea!! And your cards are always great, even if you don’t feel comfortable with the patterned papers๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Your card is too cute!! Plus I know I can always count on a blog post with a sense of humor when I come here. Thanks Teri!

  15. Terri great take on the sketch. I really love all the bright colors and how well you mixed the pattern paper. I always find mixing patterns challenging. Well done.

  16. Love your combination of patterns here! I know what you mean about Betsy -but I admire your cards just as much as hers. Fabulous card, Teri!

  17. I love the brightness of all the papers! I’m always scared to use too much pattern on the same card, but you’ve proven that it CAN be done!

  18. what a pretty card….love your style and this is so different..I too look at Betsy’s creations and think that’s so not me:-) But you had the gus to gofor it.๐Ÿ™‚

  19. It’s a fabulous card! I think a little bit of Betsy has rubbed off on you…or maybe you already had some patterned paper genius in you, but it was just overshadowed by the CAS goddess!

  20. I always love your cards, you do such a good job putting them together. Love the paper and stitching! Thank you for sharing.

    Katie B.

  21. I love blog hops – because it gives me a chance to view great blogs I might not otherwise find. Thanks for the chance to win!

  22. Hope you are doing better, now that Irene is out of the picture! Your card is soooo interesting with the different prints!!!! Thanks for sharing!๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

