GCD Studios Theme: Unusual Holiday Color Inspiration

Hello all!

Ever get in the “I only use green and red for Christmas projects” rut?

If you are anything like me, there aren’t many times you have worked up a holiday card or scrapbook layout  that doesn’t use red and green.😉

So imagine my surprise when I saw this pretty picture and decided to use it as a springboard to make a couple holiday cards.

From the pretty peach flowers to the hint of pink, there isn’t much I don’t love about this picture. I think part of the reason it also was so intriguing because it’s so different from the red and green color scheme I usually use for holiday cards.

The biggest challenge for me was finding the right papers to use from my GCD Studios’ paper stash. I didn’t have anything exactly the same colors as in the picture so I pretended the color scheme was a bit darker: a darker green; a more stronger yellow; an orange rather than a peach color and a very pink pink.

The first card I worked up was this retro-themed Merry Christmas card.

I used papers from the Funhouse, The Great Outdoors, Animal Crackers for Girls and Elementary, My Dear collections. Again, the colors aren’t exact. But they are pretty close and I love how they look together.

The scalloped circle is a piece of Chip Art chipboard. I painted it white and then added a tree from the Woodgrain Alphabets pack to it.

I again drew color inspiration from the flower photo for a second card.

I again pretended the pallet was darker and used patterned papers (from GCD Studios, of course) that were a little darker than the picture.

I tried to create a paper quilt of sorts behind the frame and on the card. I think it adds a real homespun touch to it.

The frame and stars are from the Chip Art collection.

To make the star pop, I placed foam tape behind it. That just gives it an extra lift and makes the card look a little more 3D.


4 thoughts on “GCD Studios Theme: Unusual Holiday Color Inspiration

Leave a Reply

