March Paper Smooches DT blog hop!

Woot! It’s a Paper Smooches day here.

It’s Pep Rally week in the Paper Smooches world, and the gang’s are here today to share a sampling of the Paper Smooches April stamp release with you!  The three NEW clear stamp sets will be available to purchase on April 1st.  You will find them HERE.  Follow the Paper Smooches blog for more sneak peeks.

To add extra fun to our blog hop…we are offering up a prize!  Just leave a comment on any of the five design team blogs listed below for your chance to win one of the three new April stamp sets!  (you do not need to comment on all blogs to qualify)  You have until midnight MT on Friday, March 30th to leave a comment.  Please check all five blogs on Saturday, March 31st to see if you are one of the five lucky winners.

To increase your chances of winning:

1. Leave a comment on this blog post.

2. Tell us that you Facebooked about our blog hop.

3. Tell us that you Tweeted about our hop.

4. Tell us that you posted on your blog about our blog hop.

Ok. Enough talk.

Let’s get on with the project. So meet today’s card!🙂

I used the brand new Simply Said stamp set. This is a great new sentiment stamp set.

I wanted to do something a little different with it today and make a fairly simple, totally easily to re-create card that just used stamps from the set. I don’t know about you all, but I think sometimes it’s easy to get lost in trying to make a masterpiece –  the pretty card. There are days I need to remind myself that it’s OK to make the it’s practical, do-able cards. They are just as appreciated.

Anyway, here’s what I did:

* I picked three phrases from the Simply Said set that worked together. Then, I stamped one of them smack in the middle of my card front with a dark color of ink. (Note: For demonstration purposes here, I’m using white cardstock.)

* I took one more sentiment from the set and stamped it in a different color of ink (not as dark as the first).

* Then, I took one final sentiment and stamped it in lines over and over above and below the initial stamping.

I kept going and going until I got something that worked well for a card front. I finished stamping and thought, “You know, that would work cool with some other colors of cardstock so I am going to do it again.”

Following the same scheme, I made a couple more cards just like it.

In fact, here they are all are lined up.

Same scheme, just different colors of cardstock.🙂

That’s all for now. See you again.

Thanks for stopping by today.

129 thoughts on “March Paper Smooches DT blog hop!

  1. fantasitc! i agree – we don’t need to kill ourselves for everycard! sometimes simple and easy to recreate is the best! and no matter what, it comes from the heart!

  2. EXCELLENT concept for your cards. I agree–pretty and perfect isn’t always necessary. These maintain that “hand-written” look. I appreciate your visual tutorial, too.

  3. This is a perfect graduation card!!! I like to give homemade but if it is for a male I know they go right in the trash (I try to salvage if my boys get homemade) so a simple, but homemade card is what I look for when making those types!

  4. Teri, as usual i love your designs, even if you dont think they are “pretty”. i also really like the simple little half circle with brad. looks great!

  5. Teri, I liked seeing the mini tutorial! I am often hesitant to layer stamps because I am not quite sure how (and sometimes not very brave). Nice easy card!

  6. Oh my gosh I LOVE the simplicity of this and how great it really looks on paper! Thanks so much for your step by step photos because now I really can’t wait to try this!

  7. What a different way to use sentiment stamps! Now I’m looking at my sets to see what I can use for this technique. Hmmm… Oh, and love the little half-circle with the brad on the bottom that matches the borders. Nice finishing touch!🙂

  8. Teri, what a great way to make a set of cards, They are simple in design so they’re easy to do but are striking at the same time. Thanks

  9. What a fun card with all the little sentiments…love how you put that finishing touch of the half circle and brad!

  10. This is totally refreshing! It’s so great to know that everyone struggles with the pressure to create sometimes. Thanks for writing down permission to make practical, do-able cards!

  11. love the way you used all the colors and sentiments together. I’ve never done this myself, will have to try it! Also love the font of the stamps. 🙂

  12. I love how you took one idea and shared three possible card options for it. Very versatile, and the colors you picked are fabulous! Thanks for sharing!

  13. What a lovely idea to make a collage of sentiments this way! Looks great! And those strips on the top and bottom of another color are just the perfect finishing touch! I like it a lot!!
    Hugs, Wendy

  14. Simply fabulous Teri! I love the way this looks and it looks amazing on all the different cardstocks! I am definitely going to try this technique! I have got to get my hands on these new stamps🙂

  15. I love love live your style Teri! And i love what you do with paper smooches stamps! Cant wait for the April release!!

Leave a Reply

