Tooling Around: The i-magicut pt. 2

Hi all!

I’m over on Paper Crafts Connection, talking about the i-magicut ribbon cutting tool from Imaginisce.

Head over there first to learn about the basics of the tool and to see those projects.

I want to share a few extra tips here today for the i-magicut, as well as some additional projects I made with the tool.

I want to disclose that whenever I do a Tooling Around post, I spend a lot of time playing with the tool and trying different things with it so I feel comfortable making stuff with it.

So I did my own unofficial tests with the i-magicut, trying different types of ribbons and materials with it. I recommend that you do the same if you purchase a tool. It’s a great way to get a feel for how quickly the tool cuts ribbon and also what will work with it.

I had really good luck using withย  a number of different types of ribbons. Here’s just a sample of good cuts I got with it. Not pictured is polyester twill tape. It worked good, too!

And here’s a sample of some of the surfaces I wasn’t able to cut with it. Note the brown marks.

Again, test yourself with the tool. Your ribbons and materials may be different than mine so your results may be different.

Something else I found helpful when using the tool was to keep a few clothespins handy.

It just helped when I folded ribbon over and wanted to put it in the tool to keep it in place.

Here are a couple more cards I made with the tool.

I created this funky bow by using the tool to cut notches and “v” shapes in a couple pieces of ribbon and then layering them together.

All the ribbon here was cut with i-magicut. I purposely cut the ribbons at an angles so I could make these funky borders.

That’s all for now. Be back later, gators.

See you again soon.

11 thoughts on “Tooling Around: The i-magicut pt. 2

  1. Thanks for the great tutorial/review on this, Teri! I’ve been searching for a solution to this problem for quite some time. Now I have something to add to my wish list!๐Ÿ™‚ Love the cards you made!

  2. Question? If you cut those ribbons that the machine couldn’t cut, will the machine seal the edges?

    Anohter couple of great looking cards – especially love the one with the funky bow!

    • Hi Sue!
      And if it won’t cut them, it can’t seal the edges. The wire basically melts the ribbon (that’s how it cuts it). The melting it what seals the edges.

  3. What a bummer that it doesn’t cut seam binding! That’s one of the easiest ribbons to fray and I wouldn’t have thought it’d be a problem because it’s so thin. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. Teri- what seam binding did you test it on? My Stampin’ Up! Seam binding ribbon frays a lot and thought this too might be the answer. I saw yours had brown marks and wondered if it was SU.

    • Hi Cassie!
      Thanks for swinging by.๐Ÿ™‚ The seam binding I am using is called Hug Snug. It’s from Lawrence Schiff Silk Mills, Inc.

  5. Thanks for sharing your tips and tricks, Teri!

    Did you find any secrets to keeping your ribbon at an angle for easy cutting? I have the tool and I know just doing a straight cut that I can wrap the ribbon around the bottom and hold it tight to keep it in place, but I have the hardest time keeping the ribbon at the angle I want while I close the lid and seal it.

    • Hi Tifany!
      Thank you!๐Ÿ™‚
      It’s definitely a two-handed job. I found it helpful at times to place the first end under tool. Something else is to put a little tape on one end and onto the onto the outside of the tool before you put it through.

  6. Thanks for sharing your info on this tool Teri! I like to know as much as possible about “another” tool before I buy it. This looks ok but the fact that it doesn’t cut fabric based seam binding/ribbon might just put the brakes on it for me. BUT..if I got one as a gift, well that would change things, wouldn’t it?!!!

Leave a Reply

