Go-to Challenge: Die-cutting with Simon Says Stamp

Hi everybody!

How is your Wednesday?

Well, I’m happy to be hopping and playing along with the Go-to Gals for another challenge!

We challenged ourselves to make something for today’s challenge with some of the exclusive dies from Simon Says Stamp! (They make awesome exclusive stamps, too!)

So with that, meet today’s card (and my take on the challenge).

My die of choice was their Fresh Daisies die!

(Oh la la!)

I also used a sentiment from SSS’s Absolutely Delightful stamp set.

I did something a bit different with the die. Rather than using plain old, yawn-worthy paper, I die cut fine grit sandpaper with it. Here’s a closer look at it.

Here’s my process for die-cutting sandpaper.

Start with a fine grit paper.

You want to have the inside of the die (the cutting part) to face the not Gritty side, especially with a thin wafer style die.

Set a little Washi tape (or masking tape) on the die to anchor it onto the sandpaper.

Zip it through your die-cut machine.Β  (I have a couple machines, but I often use this old retired Revolution machine. I really love it for thin dies. If you see one at garage sale, snatch it up.)

And the end result is something like this here.

Want to win a Fresh Daisies die from Simon Says Stamp? Here’s your chance. Leave a comment for me and I’ll pick one one person at random to win.

And be sure to check out the blogs of the other Go-to Gals to see their take on the challenge and what dies they used (oh yes, and for a chance to win dies off of their blogs, too).

And one more thing: Be sure to comment on Jennifer’s post on Paper Crafts Connection today. :)Β  Heidi at Simon Says Stamp! generously put together a pack of $100 worth of their exclusive stamps and dies, in honor today’s hop! Woo-to-the-hoo!

A big, big, big thank you goes out to Simon Says Stamp! for being so generous! Thank you again, Heidi!

And a big thank you to all of you for stopping by today!

284 thoughts on “Go-to Challenge: Die-cutting with Simon Says Stamp

  1. I have this sentiment set and love how they work with so many designs!! Don’t have the die but love that you can cut so many different things with them not just paper!!! Thankyou for the idea!!!

  2. Super cute!! I wouldn’t have thought to use sandpaper on the flowers but you know….the flowers were the first thing to grab my eye! LOVE that die it’s awesome and so is the stamp set you used!!

  3. Love the colors, and your use of unexpected supplies! Who knew sandpaper could look so good! Thanks for the chance to win.

  4. Love the idea of die cutting sandpaper. I never would have thought of that. Thanks for including the sandwich for the machine. I’m pretty sure I would have done it backwards!

  5. This is adorable and such a brilliant idea! I love the texture it adds. Thank you to you and Heidi for the chance to win too!

  6. I have tons of sandpaper left from working on our house that has lost a lot of its grit. I wonder how that would look on a more distressed card?…

  7. What a neat idea to use sandpaper for your die cut. Thanks for the tute about the process. This would be good for “manly” die cuts for our male card getters. I can see tools and such done this way. Thanks

  8. That die is so delicate especially to use sandpaper to die cut those pretty daisies out. Just love the finished card. So pretty.

  9. Cute card! The colors remind me of the beach houses in Gulf Shores that we saw this summer. And I may have to die cut something from sandpaper (cool idea!) just to see hubby’s reaction to reaching for his sandpaper only to find flowers cut into it, ha ha! Thanks for the chance to winπŸ™‚

  10. Teri, I just knew there had to be another way to use sand paper, other than sanding. I also noticed you using cork on another project. Very creative! I would love to win the Fresh Daisy die. Thank for sharing!

  11. This daisy die is so so lovely. I stinky LOVE it! And I love how you cut it out of sand paper to give it the grainy texture. LOVE it!

  12. Cool idea to use the sand paper and now sort of a multi-purpose card if the recipient just happens to need to file their nails! Just joking! You’re awesome! πŸ™‚

  13. What a fabulous card! I love the use of the partial ticket on the side! Thanks for the opportunity to win the daisy die! I love it!

  14. Never thought to use sandpaper. Liking the look! Beautiful card. I am impressed with these dies. Thank for a chance to win some.

  15. Wow, I had no idea you could use sandpaper in a die cutting machine….so cool. Thank you for sharing and thank you for a chance to win. What a stunning cardπŸ™‚

  16. Love your card, Teri! Thanks for this cool idea with sand paper – my husband is a painting contractor and I’m going to raid his stash!

  17. Dang!! That is too clever!! Love that idea: how do you think so creatively? I’m going to have to give that one a try; and I love your card too! πŸ™‚

  18. Great idea, although I wonder if my husband would appreciate his sandpaper w/a daisy cut through it! Love the card. Thanks so much.

  19. What a clever idea – love the texture of the sandpaper & the “shadow” effect with the white flower underneath. Thanks for the inspiration & for the chance to win!

  20. Love it….so creative. I’ve used sandpaper to create a beach scene, but would have never thought to use it for a die cut. Great texture!

  21. I had never thought about die cutting sand paper. So cool. Now you have me thinking of other types of papers I should try die cutting….

  22. I love your Fall colored card and the layers and textures. And how you off set the flower die. This die looks like so much fun. I’m so going to have to have some of the SSS dies! Thanks for a chance to win some.

  23. Gorgeous card, and so clever to use fine grit sandpaper ! I love the effect! Thanks so much for your inspiration (as always) ~ Off to see what the other Go-To-Gals’ have created!

  24. The sandpaper is so creative, but I love even more your double layering. What a great way to use the die! (Please don’t include me in the giveaway). Thanks for sharing!

  25. Awesome idea! I never really thought to die cut sandpaper. I usually just use it for distressing. Thanks for the inspiration. πŸ˜€

  26. omgosh! sometimes I think I have my head in the sand…who (besides you!) would have ever thought to use sandpaper! NOVEL!!! luv luv your card..and that die! ty for sharing!

  27. Would never have thought to use sandpaper! Have seen thin cork used, but this is something new…Very novel and fun! Gives the card some grit (smile)!

  28. Love how you used the sandpaper! I would have never guessed now I’m gonna have to take another trip to the hardware store.

  29. Love the idea of the texture…finally some good use for all my fine sand paper leftovers from our renovation =D
    That die really is be-au-ti-ful….

  30. Sandpaper and dies ~ what a wonderful combination. Leave it to you, Teri, to come up with that idea. Your card is awesome and look forward to trying them after I buy some sandpaper. Thanks for the chance to win the Daisies Die and thanks also to Simon Says Stamp!

  31. I just love how you used the sandpaper with this die. It gives it a whole new feel!! Thanks for the tip on how to do it as well!

  32. You can die cut sandpaper in the Revolution? Can’t wait to try. That’s my favorite machine. Would love to win this die and I love what you did with it.

  33. Sandpaper! Wonderful! I’ll be off to Home Depot as soon as it opens! Now all I need is the daisy die so I can make some flowers just like yours! I’d love to win it; thanks for this chance.

  34. What a great idea using the sand paper. I have been trying new things with my cards and my need to add this to the list. Great card too! thanks for a great giveaway!

  35. What a great idea, sandpaper! I would never have thought of that. Thanks for the tip on using sandpaper. Thanks for sharing and the chance to win.

  36. I would never, ever have thought to use sand paper, but it’s absolutely perfect for this card! I really love your cards and the sentiment that goes with it.

  37. Great idea using sandpaper on the flower. I have used it for sand/desert look but it’s stunning making a flower. Your card is awesome as always. Would love to win a die. I like the look of a lot of the new simon dies. Cant wait to see some others used. Thanks for all you do.

  38. Love the daisy die. How cute. Like how you did it with sand paper. Very unique. Thanks for this opportunity to win this great die and tell us about Simon Says products.

Leave a Reply

