Operation Write Home: Memorial Day Weekend Blog Hop


Hi friends!

Super excited today to take part again in one of Operation Write Home’s blog hops. I knew the second I heard about this weekend’s hop that I wanted to sign up.

Operation Write Home is an organization I really admire. Not just because they support  the troops by making handmade cards for them to send their loved ones, but they also get us card makers fired up about sharing our love for the hobby! I think that is just great! (Really, thanks, guys, for supporting the troops and for mobilizing all of us! )

Ok, so enough mushy stuff!  Of course, I have a card to share today. 🙂 So meet today’s card, which I will be sending in for the troops!


I really wanted to make a friendly little card so I used what I like to call one of my go-to happy sentiments. This one is from the Bring on the Sun by Ali Edwards stamp set from Technique Tuesday.

That’s real cork on that card. Had a little leftover from another project so I decided to put it to use! The papers are all from my scrap pile!


The hearts were cut with a die from Lawn Fawn. I added a little bit of stitching, as well as a screw shaped brad, to them. Kinda fun!

So that is all I have!

Be sure to head here to find links to everyone taking part in the hop this weekend! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

117 thoughts on “Operation Write Home: Memorial Day Weekend Blog Hop

  1. I glanced through all the thumbnails first thing, and this card just jumped out at me. Bright, cheery, simple but not plain. I loved it even more seeing the details. That screw-shaped brad and the cork are wonderful! You’re very talented.

  2. I absolutely LOVE this card! Those adorable embellished hearts on the cork are simply eye candy, and I love the sentiment! NJ! Happy Memorial Day weekend!

  3. The addition of the cork is genius. Makes those darling hearts pop. What a happy card. The recipient will love it. I get mushy about OWH too…think they’re awesome.

  4. This is just fantastic! I love the use of the cork (I’ve been avoiding buying some but you’ve now convinced me I can’t live without it!) and the variation in each of the little hearts. Thanks for joining in the hop and supporting Operation Write Home!

    Paula S.
    OWH Blog Team

  5. I love the cork as a layering element on your card. And, each little heart looks so neat against that as a backdrop. What a great card!

  6. Thanks for inspiring me. It takes people like you to make me get out of my rut and do something different. Ditto to all the positive comments above. You made a great card. Thanks for supporting OWH.

  7. How cool this card is! I love all the elements and that cork is a fabulous touch. Love those stitched hearts too.

  8. What a bright & cheery card this is! I love everything about it from the cork, to the scraps peeking from behind it, to the colors of the hearts and how you embellished them, and that sentiment fits this to a tee. Thank you for sharing this inspiring card & for your support of our heroes and OWH.

  9. The cork is a stroke of genius!! Adorable buttons…this is a very cool card. Thank you for sharing and supporting OWH

  10. Your card is fantastic. Love the cork for texture – I would have never thought of doing this! And the die cuts with the stitching and srew brad are perfect embellishments for your card. Thank you for sharing your card with us! ~ Marilyn

  11. Love, love, LOVE this! So clean and classic in design, but then there’s that quirky piece of cork that just gives it a special texture and whimsy. Hope you don’t mind if I CASE this in the future. Thanks for your participation in the OWH Blog Hop. I’ll be back for more inspiration in the future!

  12. I adore your card–the stitched “x” in the hearts is perfect! Thanks for participating in the OWH blog hop!

  13. Wonderful card. I love that you used the cork. That is so cute. Wonderful job. Thanks for joining in.

  14. The cork is the perfect background for ur little corkboard…😉 that is what this darling card makes me think of! A cute little corkboard with custom made heart pins! TFS and for joining in the OWH blog hop!

  15. Great card I really like the cork. I got some as a gift and was not sure how to use it now I have some direction Thanks

  16. The cork, colors, stitching, sentiment and papers are all perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this, Teri, and for supporting OWH! Some hero is just really gonna love your card!!!

  17. I LOVE the cork on this! Hmm…add another item to my shopping list…🙂 This is such a wonderful CAS card and I love how you dressed up the hearts!

Leave a Reply

