Operation Write Home Memorial Day Blog Hop


Hi all! I’m taking part today in the annual Memorial Day Blog Hop with Operation Write Home.

Operation Write Home is a great organization that provides handmade cards for soldiers to send home to their loved ones. I love that! And I love that it gives all of us as cardmakers a chance to share our love of making cards!

I made a card inspired by one of Operation Write Home’s card sketches. I used sketch 118.


I took some creativity liberties, using washi tape rather than scalloped borders. I also drew a line around the inside elements.


The supplies I used were: papers from the Sea to Shining Sea collection from Simple Stories; hey stamp from the Favorite Flowers stamp set from Simon Says Stamp!; and washi tape from Doodlebug Design.

To find links to everyone taking part in the hop, go here.

Thanks for swinging by today!

99 thoughts on “Operation Write Home Memorial Day Blog Hop

  1. FYI – The blog hop participant and OWH links go to an OWH site but it says “page not found” and there is no info.🙂

  2. I agree with others….I like the changes you made with the sketch. Very creative, and I’m in love with your paper and design! Why don’t I ever think to add lines around creative elements, etc.? Guess that’s why you guys are the designers and I’m a “follower”!

  3. Great card! Love the heart at the top of the anchor. It’s amazing how that line you drew around the elements really helps them stand out. I’ll have to try that idea.

  4. Truly a red, white and blue card. Makes me think of one of my husband’s relatives who was in the Navy.

  5. Simple design but oh so pretty. I like the blue background paper, it kind of has a washed out look to it.

  6. I love nautical cards, and I really like how you used the washi tape rather than scallops from the sketch. Nice card!

  7. So nice- love the little touches and changes you made. Someone will be very happy to receive this!

  8. I’m a sucker for nautical and, of course, red, white and blue. So this card jumped right out of the thumbnails for me. Thanks for supporting OWH

  9. Love this card – can’t go wrong with patriotic colors, and a nautical theme, and the sentiment on this card just screams HAPPY!

  10. Great fun card…..I just sat there staring. What a simple but great choice-draw a frame! I wish I had thought of this much sooner!

    Thank you for making and sharing today!

  11. Teri, your work always inspires me! Your card is so stinking cute! I love that you put washi for the borders because it is the perfect touch!

  12. The robins egg blue as a background gives this a nice, antiqued, weathered feel (very good nautical combo) and the way you used the washi tape is terrific. Thanks for joining in the hop this weekend and supporting OWH!

  13. Great card! Drawing a frame around your card was a fantastic idea! Love the navy blue anchor as the focal point.

  14. I like the way you incorporated washi tape into your card, nice touch. I also like the simplicity of your sentiment, I don’t own “Hey”, but I’m thinking I should.

  15. Anchors are all the rage and your card really uses one well! I love your layout and how you used black pen to outline your frame. Great card!

Leave a Reply

