MFT Countdown: 5

We meet again!🙂

I’m back again with a couple more projects made with the August release from My Favorite Things.


You might say that today’s projects are a bit on the spooky side.😉

Meet #1.


I cut all the elements for this one (other than the stars, which are from the  Blueprints 18 Die-namics) with the Witch’s Cauldron Die-namics dies. So, so fun, you guys.

To get the two-toned look with the bubbles, I cut the “oval” part of the cauldron with the same green cardstock and the bubble panel. Then I just used a dark green maker to add a little color and make it darker. I used the same marker to add color to the bubbles.


And this is card #2.


This was so much fun to make, you guys!  Oh my goodness. I used the Centerpieces Spooky Window Die-namics to make that window. GOSH, it is so, so fun! I started with a 3″ x 4″ pieces of cardstock (brown and white) and cut the window scene from them.

On the brown piece, I simply used my scissors to snip away the web and spider and then layered them together.


One really cool thing about this set is it comes with an individual spider die so you can die-cut a spider from black (or whatever color you prefer).  It makes building a scene totally easy!

So how did I do the color behind the window, you ask? Well, well, well, my fine friends… I used a couple of my MFT ink pads (Orange Fizz and Lemon Drop) and did something like this.

I took the two ink pads and applied color quickly to a stamping block.


Then I quickly spritzed on a little water.


Then I quickly (are you sensing a pattern?) set the block onto a panel of watercolor paper and pulled the color down it. Because the ink dries fast, you really have to work fast to pull this technique off, but  believe me, the results make it totally worth it.


And don’t fret if you only get a little color on your paper panel. Just ink up your blog and repeat the process again.

Here’s a complete list of the MFT products I used to make today’s cards:

Ok, so today’s post is a wrap. Thanks, as always, for stopping by.

Be sure to hit the MFT blog to see what other DT members are sharing projects today.

16 thoughts on “MFT Countdown: 5

  1. Terrific cards, Teri! Like your bubbling cauldron. Fantastic spooky window card! That die is ON my list.🙂 Thx for showing how you dragged your inky spritzed acrylic block. I stamp with them a couple of ways but I never thought to drag them. Really neat look.

Leave a Reply

