MFT Countdown: 1

Hello again!

I’ve got one more batch of projects made with the August release from My Favorite Things. I hope you can handle it.😉


Today’s post is a bit of a trip on the Halloween side again.

Here’s project #1.


As part of the August release, MFT has put together a really fun set of Halloween dies called the Spooky Scene Die-namics. They are awesome for making… well… spooky scenes for cards.

I thought they’d be fun for making Halloween treats too so I challenged myself to make a treat with them. I found some small clear drinking glasses at the dollar store. I die-cut a fence and just tucked it inside the glass, just before I put the candy in it. (If you have a Winco grocery store nearby, I found these solid candies in the bulk foods department. You could probably find solid ones at a party store as well.).

Then I made the little scene to stick in it.


What you might be surprised by is there’s actually a toothpick holding it up.


I just assembled all the die-cuts together and then adhered the toothpick to the back of the tree die. It worked like charm!

Now, keep in mind, I used this pick with candy. But you could easily make these picks and stick them in cupcakes, brownies and other treats to give to your favorite goblins and little (or big) monsters. I mean, seriously, imagine a whole bunch of these treats all lined up.

So I also made a card to share with you all today.


This was sure fun to make!

The spider web was cut with the new Spider Web Cover-Up Die-namics, while the spider was cut from a die from the new Centerpieces Spooky Window Die-namics. (Both will go on sale on 8/12). The words are from the Spooky Sentiments stamp set (available on 8/12 as well).


So how did I create that background? Simple. I pulled out my stash of watercolor crayons.


I scribbled color onto a stamping block. Spritzed the color with water and then dragged the block down a piece of white cardstock.

I left the color dry and ended up with something like this.


Then I die-cut two of Spider Web Cover-ups and layered them together, placing them over the watercolor background.


Love that extra little bit of depth that the addition of the second web adds.

Here’s a complete list of all the MFT supplies I used to make these projects.

  • Spooky Scene Die-namics (available 8/12)
  • Spooky Sentiments stamp set (available 8/12)
  • Spider Web Cover-Up Die-namics (available 8/12)
  • MFT Ink pad: Black Licorice

Be sure to hit the MFT Blog to see which other design team members are sharing projects today.

23 thoughts on “MFT Countdown: 1

  1. SUPER CUTE pick design, Teri! Love the fence in the cup and all the die cuts put together … that little cat is adorably spooky. Your web card bkgrd turned out great and I like the double web cuts and the terrific sentiment from the new set. Thanks for sharing your Rockin Halloween projects!🙂

  2. WOW!!!! You should send that spiderweb card to yourself because you really are so AWESOME that it’s scary! Love these projects!!!

  3. What great projects! I love that sweet little topper you made for the candy dish and the background on your card is simply amazing!

  4. Lot of fun techniques Love the candy treats..
    Great variety of Halloween cards.
    Those ghosts just want to gobble them …

  5. Love your candy cup with the tree and ghost, perfect for gift giving. Your back ground on your card is awesome, I love the different shades for the sky. Thanks for sharing your wonderful ideas on using these great products from MFT.

  6. Love your candy filled centerpiece! What a great idea to build the scene for cupcakes or candies! Cute spiderweb card with a great background!

Leave a Reply

