School of Design: Focal Point

Hi guys!

Summer School continues today on the blog for My Favorite Things.


Today’s lesson is all about focal point. Focal point is the main area where an embellishment or image stamp is placed. It typically works best if there is only one focal point on a card.

So here’s a card I made based on the focal point design concept.

Birthday Butterfly card by Teri

Can you spot the focal point? Yeah, it’d be that butterfly and the circles.🙂

Birthday Butterfly card by Teri

I cut the butterfly with the Flutter of Butterflies – Solid Die-namics dies. I cut a couple butterfly bodies and then stacked them up. To make them stand out, I slightly bent the wings.

The sentiment is from the You’re the Sweetest stamp set. Even though the set’s all about ice cream and other yummy treats, it’s got some phrases that are really great for any style of card.

So that’s what I have for you today.

To see a list of products I used to make this card, look below. And swing by the MFT Blog to see who else is playing along today.

7 thoughts on “School of Design: Focal Point

  1. Hi I don’t normally comment but just have to tell you I love your cards. I always look at yours first. They are always so perfect and beautiful. You do great work.

  2. I see the vocal point but I also see movement from top to bottom with the banners, is that a correct visualization?
    Cute card…..I would like this with colored felt cut pieces too.

Leave a Reply

