MFT Summer School: Hard vs. Soft

Hi guys!

It’s Summer School time again over on the blog for My Favorite Things.


Today’s lesson is all about the Hard vs. Soft design concept.

Hard vs. Soft is this:

For every hard line or edge you place on a card, the design is balanced by some softness, whether it be from a texture (like a ribbon) or a shape (like a circle); too much hard or soft might not work.

So let me show you a card I made inspired by this concept.

Hi Stars by Teri

I went with a hard background (striped paper and black cardstock). And then I added hard elements – circles, stars and sequins.

The soft comes in with the materials I used. I tied twine onto the stars and I cut the small stars and word from felt. I also purposely choose scripty hi word from the Happy Hellos Die-namics dies rather than something a little more strong and hard graphic wise.

Hi Stars by Teri

To see who else from the Creative Team was inspired by today’s challenge, check out the blog.

And for a complete list of products I used to make card, check out the list below.


6 thoughts on “MFT Summer School: Hard vs. Soft

Leave a Reply

