MFT Creative Challenge: Paper Paradise

Hi guys!

It’s challenge time again with the My Favorite Things Design Team. And we’re going tropical this time.

Creative Challenge

Yep. We’re sharing projects made with a tropical twist and featuring projects with palm trees, fruity drinks and all kinds of tropical delights.

So let me show you what I’ve got. Meet today’s card.

Tree Hut Aloha by Teri

I went the scenic route here, creating a little scene with the Tiki Party stamp set and coordinating Tiki Party Die-namics.

I really wanted to stretch myself to do something different for me so I heat embossed the tree and hut and then did some watercoloring.

Tree Hut Aloha by Teri

Watercoloring looks all fancy, but I think it’s a pretty forgiving stamping technique as long as you apply colors lightly at first.

First, I colored the tree with light greens and browns. I let the colors almost dry and then I came in with some darker greens and browns. I thought the tree looked nice, but I felt like it just needed a little more so I added the blue sky and then the tan sand. For that sky, look really close. You’ll see I brought the color really close to my embossed lines. Because I used white embossing powder (rather than a dark color), it helped to make the images obvious than they would have if I’d left a little gap between the blue color and white embossed lines.

So that’s what I have for you today. Be sure to hit the MFT Blog to see who else from the team took a whack at today’s challenge.

Check out the list below for links to products I used available through My Favorite Things.


Thanks for stopping by today, guys! 

2 thoughts on “MFT Creative Challenge: Paper Paradise

Leave a Reply

