MFT Creative Challenge: Christmas Countdown

Hi everyone!

It’s time for another challenge with the My Favorite Things Design Team.

Creative Challenge

Our challenge this time? To make come up with some kind of way to count down to Christmas!

I don’t really have anywhere on my walls to add a big piece of home decor so I challenged myself to go small and make an advent calendar that could blend in somewhat with other holiday decor. My solution? To make an advent calendar tag book that could be hung on the Christmas tree!

Check it.

Advent Calendar book by Teri

The book was fairly easy to put together, once I decided what it was going to be.

Each page is actually a tag cut with the Tag Builder 2 Blueprints Die-namics. They are all bound together with a little ball chain hanger. A binding ring would have done the trick too.

Advent Calendar book by Teri

Each page looks a little different. Some of them I cut into with the Tag Builder dies. And some I decorated with the Lucky Stars Die-namics and sequins.

Advent Calendar book by Teri Advent Calendar book by Teri Advent Calendar book by Teri

I used the Bottlecap Numbers to cut a number to add to each page to help with my countdown efforts.

I left the pages blank on the backside for my little countdown book, but I think it would be fun to write on them. Imagine writing Christmas memories or activity prompts, like “wrap presents”, “visit Santa” or “bake cookies.”

Like I said, I made this so it could be hung on a tree. Here’s a little peek at how it looks on a tree.🙂

Advent Calendar book by Teri

But being so small, it could easily be added to the wall and hung with a hung onto a nail or pushpin.

Want more countdown ideas? Hit the MFT Blog for links to the other MFT designers who completed this challenge.

For clickable links to the supplies I used to make my advent calendar, check out the list below.SupplyListBar

7 thoughts on “MFT Creative Challenge: Christmas Countdown

  1. LOVE your creative tag-style advent calendar! Cute tags, festive, traditional colors and so compact. I passed the link to your post to several friends who love Christmas but have limited space. TFS this great idea!🙂

  2. I love the idea of the tags. The back could be used as a schedule for getting ready for the big day. The “flylady” has one already prepared and I may just cut it up and use on the back of my tags. Thanks for the great idea!

Leave a Reply

