The Tie-Dye Effect… with markers!

card1_tieclose_teri

So I am over on Paper Crafts Connection today, showing how to get a tie-dye effect with alcohol inkers (from Ranger) and transparencies.

I want to show an alternative to the technique. Instead of alcohol ink bottles, I’m going to use markers plain old rubbing alcohol. That’s what I did to get the look above!

Here’s the how to do it.

You are going to want to start with transparency. Like on the Paper Crafts Connection blog, I started by dry embossing a design on a plain transparency. You really don’t have to emboss the transparency if you don’t want to, but I dig the look.

I flipped the transparency over to the debossed side and then scribbled color onto it! (I used Copic markers here, but other alcohol based markers work well, too! I tested both Sharpies and Spectrum Noir ones out when I worked this up and had super good results!)

tie_1_teri

Then you are going to want to take a dropper (You can find these in Pharmacy section of many, many stores) and dip it into rubbing alcohol. (If you have blending solution, that will work, too!).

tie_3_teri

Now quickly drop little drops of alcohol onto the color.

tie_2_teri

Let it spread a little and then tap it with a sponge.

tie_4_teriLet the color dry completely. Flip the transparency over and then put it on a white card.

tie_5_teriAnd here’s how this looks all fancied up, in card form! 😉 🙂

card1_tie_teri(The words are from a Simon Says Stamp! stamp set.)

And, just for giggles, here’s one more card I used markers to make.

card2_tie_teri

For this one, I used Spectrum Noir markers. And, because I was experimenting, I used Copic’s blending solution to spread the colors. Worked like a charm!

card2_tieclose_teri

That’s all for now. See you again soon!

15 thoughts on “The Tie-Dye Effect… with markers!

  1. I read your post at PCC and came right over here to see how to do this with markers. Love both effects and that tie-dyed look is groovy! (snapping fingers) : )

  2. Love it. Thank you for sharing the different techniques for getting the same results. I think I will try the makers before I try the ink. Less expensive for a beginner.

Leave a comment