Technique Tuesday meets My Sweet Petunia

techniquetuesday

Hi, friends!

Super excited to be joining in today on the Technique Tuesday and My Sweet Petunia blog hop.

It’s the perfect combination. Technique Tuesday’s stamps and dies + My Sweet Petunia’s awesome MISTI tools (and other accessories).

My blog is the first stop on the hop. Here’s the whole line-up:

Teri Anderson (<–You are here)

Ilina Crouse (<—- NEXT STOP on the hop! Take it away, Ilina!)

Latisha Yoast

Jeanne Streiff

Daniela Dobson

Kia Gibson-Clapper

Kymona Tracey

Ceal Pritchett

Heather Hoffman

Giovana Smith

Emily Leiphart

Stephanie Severin

Jill Hawkins

Susan Wymer

Amy Kolling

Chris Dayton

Dana Joy

Lydia Fiedler

My Sweet Petunia

I’m excited to share with you a card I created for the hop. I wanted to make a birthday card because… birthday cards are something I’m always needing.

A handmade birthday card for Technique Tuesday || Terisplace.wordpress.com

The Mini Misti tool was perfect for making this card because I wanted to give Sammy the Squirrel a birthday hat. I stamped the hat (from the Sassy Birthday 2.0 set) once on a sticky note, fussy cut it out with scissors. I stamped the hat a second time on a piece of cardstock.

A little tip for all you, Misti lovers, out there. I use a Mini Misti most of the time. (In fact, I actually take this positioner with me when I hit the road and travel to craft with friends. It’s the perfect size!) I cut several pieces of cardstock to fit in the Mini Misti ahead to fit inside it. That way I can grab and go on a stamping binge without any cares or worries. 😉

Anyway, back to the card. This is where the Mini Misti came in as super helpful. I covered up the cardstock stamped hat with the mask. And then I stamped Sammy over it.

IMG_3899

I removed the mask and ended up with Sammy in a birthday hat!

Cute, right?

Then I went to town putting together the rest of the card. I completed the scene with the cupcake (also from Sassy Birthday 2.0) and the worm (also from the Sammy the Squirrel set).

Squirrel-Birthday-Nuts-Card-Close-Teri-A-Technique-Tuesday

I colored the images in with markers. Cut them out with a circle die. Added some dots with Nuvo Crystal Drops. Add a pompom to the hat (inspired by Jenn Brown, one of TT’s ambassadors, who does that quite often).

Then I completed the card with some patterned paper and a stamped sentiment. And yep. That’s it.

Alright! That’s all I have for you! Happy hopping! (Don’t forget, Ilina is your next stop! Take it away, Ilina! I promise that you are going to LOVE what she is sharing. She has such talent)

Oh, and be sure to comment as you hop. There are some prizes up for grabs: a $50 shopping spree at www.mysweetpetunia.com and a $50 shopping spree at TechniqueTuesday.com. Leave your comments on all the hop stops no later than Monday, May 28th, at 11:59 PM Central time and winners will be announced on Tuesday May 29th, on the Technique Tuesday and My Sweet Petunia blogs.

61 thoughts on “Technique Tuesday meets My Sweet Petunia

  1. Pingback: Technique Tuesday meets My Sweet Petunia Blog Hop + Giveaway | Kreative Kymona

  2. Pingback: *Technique Tuesday and MISTI!* (pssst….Giveaway!) – fastest turtle…

  3. Love my misti…. It’s premier on my 2×3 desk! My Sweet Petunia rocks the craft world with Technique Tuesday who also has their “just us girls” stamp on my desk!

  4. thank you for showing me how to add a hat to a stamp. I have always wondered how people can do that without ruining the hat or stamp I love the card but the little hat makes it for me

  5. Too cute! Love
    the masking,
    you got the
    hat exactly
    where it should
    be.
    Carla from Utah

  6. Oh I am just nuts about your card! How super cute and festive and surely will bring a smile to the face of its recipient! TFS!

  7. Such a sweet card! Love that cute little critter with the adorable party hat. The bold stripes are a fantastic background and draw your eye to the focal image.

  8. Cute card. I dont own a Misti. It would be fun to see how helpful it can be. Great tutorial on how you added the hat to the squirrel.

  9. Squirrels are too cute. We have the red kind living in our trees, and they go nuts for peunutbutter

  10. Very cute birthday card and thank you for the tip with the masking, I’m m picking up tips everywhere I go x

  11. I love seeing masking work. I’m only just now venturing into it now that I have a stamp positioner, but I don’t think I’ll ever get over the magic. Thanks for sharing this adorable card; that pom-pom is the perfect topper to an incredibly fun card.

  12. Love your “nuts” birthday card!! Great idea about making for the hat! Really fun blog hop!!

Leave a comment