MFT: Release Rewind

Hello again!

I’ve got one more round of projects to share with you made with some of the products from the October release from My Favorite Things.

Print

So let’s get started.

Please give it up for card #1.

Print

I have been anxious to make something with the new Snowflake Fusion Cover-Up. I just love how the snowflakes blend together to create that lacy look. So pretty!

Print

I created the colorful background with watercolor paper and watercolor pencils. I simply (and rather randomly) scribbled a little color onto a piece of watercolor paper. It was really, really random. And then I spread the color with water.

The process looked a bit like this.

Print

Print

It doesn’t look super pretty when you get started, but it sure does look cool when all the color is blended.

I used the same technique to make my second card.

Print

Rather than blues, greens and purples, I stuck with shades of blues for this one. It’s a more subtle look, but I think it’s still really pretty.

Print

I created the sentiment with for this one by mixing together the peace word (die-cut with the Peace, Joy, Love Die-namics) and a couple stamped words from Merry Messages. I sure dig it when products mix together easily.

And here is another card for you.

Print

I once again whipped out those Peace, Joy, Love Die-namics and die-cut a few words to stack together for this guy. So hard to put those dies away, which (hee) explains why they are still on my desk as I write this post. But I digress.

I created the polka dot patterned paper simply by sponging on some ink with the help of the Jumbo Polka Dot Stencil.

Finally, I’ve got one more card. This card started with a couple coloring with markers errors on my part!

Print

I had die-cut and stamped the Santa, tree and presents with the Jingle All the Way stamp set (and coordinating Die-namics). I had such grand plans. I  had colored them in and then got a little overzealous with my markers causing colors to go outside the lines and then … well… accidentally dropped some blending solution on them. So rather than throwing my hands in the air, I decided to run with it and use my blender pen to make them all look a little more messy, a little more artsy. And you know what? I have to say this: I like the look.  Not that I would do it a lot, but I think in moderation (with a pretty clean card), it looks pretty cool.

Here’s a list of all the MFT supplies I used to make these cards:

So that’s what I have for today. Thanks so much for stopping by!

And don’t forget to check out the MFT Blog once again to see who else from the design team is sharing projects today.

12 thoughts on “MFT: Release Rewind

  1. FAB cards, Teri! LOVE the snowflake cover up cards. The first reminds of a tye-die Xmas. Cool! The second with the blues is lovely. Very effective angles layers, too. Like your bold colors and layered words on the third card. The last Santa card is very cute. I love your sense of confidence and audacity in that the color bled so you ADDED to it and put it out there for all to see. That trait you have is what makes your creative approach to design so refreshing, “real,” unique, and terrific! Kudos, Teri! 🙂

  2. I love the fact that you used a mistake. I just sent a card with MFT alpha “birthday” — i had the “a’ backwards. The sucker went in the mail anyway. I just said I had a dyslexic moment. Thank you! We’re all human. They HAND MADE cards. If the receiver doesn’t like it – listen to Jennifer McGuire – never give them a hand made card again!

Leave a comment