Hero Arts Summer 2016 Release Blog Hop

Hi everyone!

So tickled today to be joining some of my favorite makers in celebrating the Summer 2016 release from Hero Arts with a blog hop!

Hero Arts products have been part of my creative arsenal for a really long, long time. In fact, some of the very first stamps I ever used (…. and maybe collected… maybe… hee hee) were from Hero Arts. So it’s an extra special treat to take part. (Thanks for having me, Hero Arts friends.)

I’ve got three projects to share with you. Each of them use the new City Adventure stamp set. And I’m a fan of mixing and matching so I’ve used some other Hero Arts stamps with them.

So I’d like to introduce you to card #1.

Handmade stamped card by Teri // terisplace.wordpress.comI went pretty graphic here. I  wanted to create a city scene of sorts. I started by making those dots to stamp the cityscape on. To make those dots in the background, I just took an ink applicator and applied inks directly to cardstock.

And then I built the scene around it, adding the taxi and “let’s go” phrase. The card needed a little more so I added the sun and “roam” and “get lost” phrases from The Adventure Begins to it. And then I drew the black line  under the taxi.

HA_ExploreClose_teri

I think it turned out pretty fun!

These next two cards are destination specific… or location specific, I guess. 🙂

Handmade stamped card by Teri // terisplace.wordpress.com

The bird and sign are from the City Adventure set. If you have ever watched that show “Portlandia”, you’ve  probably heard a reference to putting a bird on things. 😉

The food truck and words are from Kelly’s Portland stamp set by Kelly Purkey. Food trucks are huge here. I stamped the truck, colored it in and then used my trusty scissors to fussy cut it out. It’s popped up on the card with foam tape.

Handmade stamped card by Teri // terisplace.wordpress.com

And this little scene was inspired some of the parks in Portland. The trees and sun are from The Adventure Begins, while the bike, light and bench are all from City Adventure. Bikes are everywhere in Portland. Might say it’s a thing here.

To make the light and legs of the bench stand out, I used a white gel pen to color them in. I also added a little white to the Portland letters. If you look really close you can see it.

I hope you’ve enjoyed these cards and are enjoying the hop!

Here’s the complete blog hop list:

The Hero Arts Blog
Amy Tsuruta
Clare Prezzia
Debby Hughes
Jennifer McGuire
Jenn Shurkus
Joan Bardee
Julie Ebersole
Kathleen Graumuller
Kathy Racoosin
Kelly Rasmussen
Kimberly Crawford
Laura Bassen
Libby Hickson
Lori Craig
Lucy Abrams
Lydia Fiedler
Mariana Grigsby
May Sukyong Park
Nichol Magouirk
Sandy Allnock
Teri Anderson (<—– Here you are.)
Wanda Guess (<————–NEXT STOP! Take it away, Wanda!)
Yana Smakula

If you get lost during the hop, be sure to check out this post on the Hero Arts Blog!

Also, go here to see all the new Hero Arts products. So much good stuff!

Oh, and be sure to comment as you are hopping today! Hero Arts will be giving away three $25 shopping sprees, drawn from comments left across all blogs in the hop. Please comment by Sunday, May 15 at 11:59pm PT and they’ll announce the winners the following week.

243 thoughts on “Hero Arts Summer 2016 Release Blog Hop

  1. Great travel images for your cards; love how you highlighted the image with bold colors; very nice.

  2. I love how the cards all coordinate with each other. What a great gift idea for someone about to go on a road trip!

  3. Love the destination stamps. I think you could have so much fun with those- and I love your bird. 😉

  4. These cards are awesome. Love the style of the central colors with the surrounding white & black.

  5. Love the city adventures set and Kelly Purkey Portland set . I would buy it but I don’t live in Portland. Is there a way of making an add on stamp for Vancouver. I have the Seattle set but again same issue but at least the right state. Still love the set.

  6. Pingback: Scattered Confetti - What’s the Scoop? – [Hero Arts Summer 2016 Release] Blog Hop & Giveaway.

  7. Pingback: Hero Arts Summer 2016 Release Blog Hop + Giveaways | Mayholic in Crafts

  8. Love the skyline with the color circles. It just makes you want to get out and explore.

  9. Awesome cards! These could easily be postcards – so fun! Love how you did the circles on the first card – easy peasey!

  10. Like your creative outdoor scene creations. I flew out of Portland airport once but not had pleasure of visiting. Have a BEE-utiful day!
    Melissa
    “Sunshine HoneyBee”

  11. Pingback: Hero Arts Summer Release Blog Hop |

  12. I visited Portland and the northern Oregon coast so the cards take me back and the wonderful time I had there with my family. Cute cards!

  13. Love, love, love the background colors used when creating your first card. So creative – thanks for the inspiration!

  14. Wonderful card set. I love the way you have created the unique color backgrounds, each one so eye catching and beautiful.

  15. I have had some scary moments while lost, but usually more fun than not! I love that you included that in these “adventure” cards! It really IS all about the trip more than the destination. Wish I had realized when I was younger. (sigh) Thanks so much!

  16. Love the new Hero Arts destination stamp sets! You did a beautiful job capturing the travel “bug” in your explore card!

  17. Thank you for making me aware of the Portland stamp. I grew up in Oregon and spent a lot of time there.

  18. I love the way you colored the backgrounds–works perfectly for the desination stamps and creating a scene!

  19. These hops offer so many great ideas. I love how you combined the color backgrounds. Thank you for sharing.

  20. Wow is that first card fun!This is such a creative coloring technique and I’m going to have to give it a try now. Thanks for the wonderful inspiration.

  21. Very inspiring, not only to stamp this summer, but also to get out and travel!! Nice color combinations. And the touch of white gel pen on the street light is a great suggestion.

  22. Love using pops of colour. These new adventure/destination stamps seem very accommodating for such a technique. Awesome cards!

  23. I’m loving how u pulled pics from more than one set to get the look u want . I have to remember to do more of that across my stamp sets to get more use- Thx for that!

  24. Great travel cards! I especially liked the use of the colored circles on the first one. Clever. Thanks for sharing!

  25. Pingback: Hero Arts Summer 2016 Release Blog Hop | Doublestick Heaven

  26. love your cards,the first one is simple, but fun, and i think its something to try.

  27. Oh my, these are all so much fun! Love your clever design of the first card and I love the versatility of the City adventure set. It’s nice to have a cityscape stamp that is not location-specific.

  28. Really like what you did with these stamps, gives me a bunch of ideas on how to use these! Great cards!

  29. Your graphic design is wonderful. And the use of a white gel pen to highlight the letters and bench legs was a great idea.

  30. You’ve sold a trip to Porland! You really put cities in the spotlight! Well done!

  31. Great job on the cards, Teri. Cute idea for the colored dots- looks great! And you did such a nice job on the shading for the other card. Thanks so much for sharing with us and for participating in this fun hop.

  32. I am totally loving these Hero Arts destination stamps. What great exables of using a very simple backdrop and bold pops of color! Incredibly fun!

  33. Love how you created the backgrounds on these cards. The simplicity is inspirational:)

  34. These traveling vehicle cards make me want to make my own art journal using these stamps and sentiments. Looks like fun.

  35. I love these cards, especially the colored dots on the first one which remind me of a bokeh effect on a very colorful photo. So beautiful!

  36. All three of these cards are such a tribute to these clever stamps. Just love how you’ve added so much personality to them.

  37. I’m such a fan of your work Teri and I love clean and simple cards, you hit these out of the park! Thanks for sharing.

  38. Why hello there fellow PNW-er! I grew up by DuPont in Washington, then we built a log home by Bend, OR. So Portland is one of our old stomping grounds. I love our graphic take and designs here. The vibrant colors really pop the simple images out. All my best to you, thank you for the memories and inspiration. With aloha from big island Hawai’i — ♥

  39. Great stuff with these stamps! My favorite is the cityscape with all the color – so fun!

  40. These cards are wonderful. I love the simplicity of the stamp…and the gorgeous, bright colors.

  41. Thanks for the idea of making colored circles directly by using the applicators, how clever!

  42. Pingback: Pull-Tab Slider Card, Hero Arts bloghop – Sandy Allnock

  43. Great cards! I do think of bikes when I think of Portland. I lived close to Portland, (across the bridge.), for 50 yrs & do miss lots of things about Portland . NE is such a loooong ways away!!

  44. Yes! I am enjoying this blog hop because it is from Hero Arts and has some great designers along the way. I think your cards are fabulous and fun! 🙂

  45. I love the travel/adventure stamps in this release. Fun cards and lots of great examples on this hop.

  46. I can’t decide which one I like best. Sure getting some good ideas for the new stamps.

  47. These are all so amazing! I love how you did the wash of color on the backgrounds. I’m definitely going to try that!

  48. Fantabulous cards, Teri. Have missed your whimsical design style. Like you, Hero Arts
    Holds a very special place in my heart. This release does not disappoint. I’d love to get City Adventure as a starting point with some traveling planned for the summer. Cheers

  49. I love the simplicity of your cards. The lines are sharp and colors vivid. Thanks for sharing and thanks to HERO ARTS for a great summer release.

  50. Great cards! Your graphic one is a fabulous modern design. Love your various takes in “destination Portland”.

  51. Hero arts were the first stamps I used too. I wonder how many of us there are. Love the food truck and your cards. Thanks.

  52. Your cards a really fun! I can’t wait to try the destination stamps – thanks for sharing!

  53. I love your simple yet effective cards. The dots on the first one are fantastic…specially once I read how you made them. The destination stamps are fun and people seem to enjoy the ones that are more personal to them.

  54. These Hero Arts stamps are perfect to celebrate travel and adventure! And while I don’t do much of those things anymore, I still have friends and family who do. These stamps would be perfect to use on cards for them!

  55. A really nice take on some of these city stamps. Your creative use of color made each one special.

  56. Great travel images, love the use of bold colors to make the city cards. Thanks for sharing.

  57. Wonderful, amazing cards with pops of gorgeous color on each one!! You are a master card maker and I love visiting your blog!!! Thanks for the inspiration!!

  58. Great cards. I like how you merged the sets together so well. Bikes are big thing in my town too. They’re everywhere. Thanks for the inspiration.

  59. I love the pops of color and I love the sentiment on Let’s go Explore. Words to live by! Thank you for sharing.

  60. FUN & FABULOUS cards!!!
    LOVE your scenes and colours, all great designs!!!
    THANK YOU for sharing your INKY AWESOMENESS 🙂

  61. Oh my gosh, everything is colorful! I love it all! I’ve never been to Portland but your card makes me want to go there! I love those beautiful colored dots on your first card with the taxi. You are making me jealous with you’re amazing card making! I would love to win any or all of these stamps! Great job with each and every card!

Leave a comment