MFT: Shakers Gotta Shake

Hi all!

So My Favorite Things is a doing some fun stuff this week on the MFT Blog, sharing all kinds of fun ideas for shaker cards. Are you new to the shaker thing? Made them for awhile and wanting some fresh ideas? You are going to find a whole lot of great info over there. I highly recommend checking it out.

Print

Today’s focus is on making shakers with word dies, and I thought it sounded like a fun challenge so (yep) I totally decided to join the fun.

So here’s a word die inspired card I made!

Print

It was so fun to make this guy! I don’t think I’ve ever made a word shaker before…. or if I have, I just don’t remember it.

I cut a 5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″ panel of white cardstock and die-cut the friend word with the Friend Die-namics die into it. And then I was super sneaky! I cut a 5 1/2″ x 4 1/4″ panel of acetate (or plain old transparency) and adhered it under it to give it the window look.

Now, I had to be really, really, really sneaky. I had to do something about the ends. So what did I do? I totally cut two strips of Razzle Berry cardstock and adhered them on the right and left sides of the Friend panel.

Friend Shaker Card by Teri

Sneaky, huh? Hee hee hee (<—- written in a totally evil laughing kind of way)!
Rather than using traditional sequins, I die-cut some with MFT’s Sequins Die-namics and placed them behind the window.

I should admit that if you ripped up that panel, you would would find a lot (A LOT) of foam tape behind it.  😉  And, you know what? I would totally do it again! Hee! It was fun!

So there you have it.

Here’s a list of MFT supplies I used to make this card:

And be sure to hit the MFT Blog for more “shaker-licious” action. 😉

13 thoughts on “MFT: Shakers Gotta Shake

  1. Seriously? There is a sequins die??? WHO KNEW???? I didn’t. How very clever MFT! (ANOTHER thing added to my wish list!) A great card Teri. Love the colours you’ve chosen as well!

  2. Gah!! I freakin’ LOVE this card, Teri! So fresh, fun, and fabby! The colors rock, and your take on the shaker is amazing. I wanna hang out and craft with you. ❤

Leave a comment