School of Design: Rule of Thirds

Hi everyone!

Fun things are happening on the My Favorite Things Blog this week. It’s Summer School time. Each day this week, MFT will be offering some lessons in design.


Today’s is all about the Rule of Thirds. In design talk, it’s about dividing your card into nine equal parts by two equally-spaced horizontal lines and two equally-spaced vertical lines.

So I decided to join the crew in playing along and made this card, which uses the Rule of Thirds concept. Want to see what I came up with? I’d like to introduce you to today’s card.

Thanks Stars Strips card by Teri

If you look close, you can see how it breaks up into the nine parts. And then you could divide it even further.

To give those green and blue rectangles a little bit of pop, I stamped the pattern on them with the Myriad Dot Background stamp. And then to make the stars stand out, I added sequins cut with the Sequins Die-namics on top of each one. I went with all orange cardstock to cut the sequins out. I felt the card just needed some uniformity with the “thanks” word.

Thanks Stars Strips card by Teri

So that’s what I have for you today. You’ll find a list below of all the MFT products I used to make my card.

And be sure to stop by the MFT Blog to see who else from the MFT Creative Team is playing along today.

8 thoughts on “School of Design: Rule of Thirds

  1. Super cute card…love your color scheme and your thirds is really very stunning.
    Super great creative job!! YOU ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

